Rain – Mortal Kombat DLC Mini-Review

rain
Platforms: Playstation Network, Xbox Live Arcade
Release Date: July 19, 2011

Naturally, after you add a blind swordsman and a lady who is made of blood, you need to add a man who controls water. Rain is the next, oft requested character that has been released as DLC for Mortal Kombat and follows the same format of five dollars and a few klassic skins (for Kitana and Jade). Rain may be a bit hard to get used to at first, but he is another pretty solid addition.

At first, I couldn’t get into Rain. The purple ninja has some odd moves that differentiate him from the rest of MK pack. Being different is good, but I couldn’t find my mojo with him after getting beaten repeatedly by the computer. I did have to spend more time with him than the other DLC fighters, but after some practice, I finally found some sort of groove with him.

I contribute my initial difficulties with Rain having some pretty unique special moves. He’s got a standard non-damaging teleport but that’s kind of where his similarities mostly stop with the others. Instead of a normal projectile, the water blast he shoots captures the opponent in a water ball and is moveable by your d-pad. This is great for lining up attacks, even though it takes a bit to get used to. Rain’s other specials are fairly cool and unique as well. There is a water blast, which is like Reptile’s enhanced acid blast, and lightning blast that also likens Nightwolf’s enhanced lighting attack. Most of his specials are useful in combos because they either levitate the opponent, or juggle them up higher. His basic moves are not bad as well, I just wish there were more of them. I wouldn’t say he necessarily got the shaft here, but some more basic (especially punching) combos would have been appreciated.

Rain got some pretty gory moves as well, mainly his X-Ray and fatalities, which are all watchable below. The X-Ray is both effective and disturbing to watch and launches exactly (or pretty damn close) to Ermac’s X-Ray. I’m a big fan on combo-ing into an X-Ray (who likes wasting it?) and I was able to pull off some interesting lead-ins to the bone-crunching, face-kicking super move. Also, I’m pretty sure elbows aren’t supposed to bend that way.

You no longer have to scramble the internet to find all the finishers for Rain, they are (oddly) all unlocked from the get-go. Maybe NetherRealm Studios just wants to show these off because these are some damn cool fatalities. Both emphasize Rain’s mystical power over water and both got a “Oh shit!” reaction out of me, along with a twisted chuckle. Needless to say, I was satisfied.

I hold the same complaints for Rain as I did from Skarlet and Kenshi. No alternate costume, no Nekropolis stats, you know, the unfortunate usual. I’m guessing the next character, which will be revealed on July 21st (I’m betting it is Tanya), will also get the same treatment. Hope for the best, right?

I never really followed the Mortal Kombat series until the amazing root game came out three months ago, so I don’t seem to have to cult attachment to Rain as others do. If you are one of them, you probably already bought him for the meaty five dollars and are most likely having fun with him, regardless of what others say. While it took me some time to understand the odd moveset of Rain, I enjoy his presence and find him worth the purchase. He’s not my favorite combatant, but he sure is a good alternative when switching up is needed.

Fatality #1: Bubble Burst

Fatality #2: Does it Sting?

X-Ray: Rain Check

Leave a Reply

