Platinum Hunt: Batman: Arkham City


I’m a certified whore… well, trophy whore that is. I’ve got a penchant for these worthless digital goods so I decided to give these some sort of feature. As I get a platinum trophy, I’ll comment how it was to get, how much I hated it, or why I just gave up on it. I may dabble with old titles that I’ve already completed or go on with my ever expanding trophy cabinet.

While forty-eight may not be a landmark number, my forty-eighth platinum trophy could not have gone to a better game. Batman: Arkham City was easily my Game of the Year for 2011, so retrieving trophies for the eventual platinum was similar to eating a good cake; I did it as slowly as I could so it would take as long as possible.

Some games can have grindy platinums, but Arkham City is too good for that. These achievements are divided fairly among story completion, side missions, challenge rooms, and completing miscellaneous tasks and each give the game a well-rounded list. Some of the combat and Riddler’s Revenge ones provided a stiff, but totally awesome challenge. The game’s quality really pushes you to get everything because you want to experience all Arkham City has to offer and the trophies do a good job of highlighting that.

A cup of Batman!

The Calendar Man trophy deserves props for giving incentive to returning to his cell on each holiday to hear about his murder-happy, holiday-centric escapades. While I “cheated” by setting my system clock forward for a few of them, hearing how he mutilated his father or how he poisoned the keg on St. Patrick’s Day was disturbing way to reach out and break the forth wall. Trophies and achievements that mix up the pace or somehow relate to the real world always will be more fun and thoughtful than collecting a million doodads (although even that is fun here).

Batman: Arkham City‘s platinum trophy was so enjoyable to finally achieve that I would easily do it again. Only a small handful of games are in the same category.

2 thoughts on “Platinum Hunt: Batman: Arkham City

  1. Hiya! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to fix this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

