Friday News Recap: 3/17 – 3/23

A tame week, but containing some valuable nuggets of information (but with no story taking Story of the Week). Enjoy!
Missed last week’s recap? Don’t worry you silly goose, I’ve got it right here.

Frogger: Hyper Arcade Edition is Hitting Downloadable Services Soon

I have fond memories of Frogger from my PS1 days and I loved Pac-Man Championship Edition DX back in 2010, so what’s not to love here? It is actually coming out fairly soon, hitting XBLA, PSN, and WiiWare in the spring. New, snazzy graphics, pulsing music, and updated gameplay will hopefully do wonders for this game. Can we get a Vita version please?
Source

Mass Effect 3‘s Ending(s) are Being Looked Into

As of this writing, I’m on the cusp of beating Mass Effect 3. I’m so close to getting that closure. Regardless, I doubt I’d demand a new ending if I didn’t like it. When I reported on it in a past Recap, people were complaining, but this time BioWare might actually “fix” it. What they call “content initiatives” sounds like clarification on some missing aspects at the game’s climax. If information is cloudy near the end of the game and they aim to patch that, that seems okay. The problem is that they are giving in to the players and semi-surrendering their creative freedom and setting a poisonous precedent to give fans the power to force developers to change endings. We will learn more about it April, so let’s wait until then to see what they will do to this whole clusterfuck.
Source

LittleBigPlanet Karting Coming to PS3

I guess this means R.I.P. for ModNation Racers, huh? United Front Games, the team behind MNR, has been tasked with making this blend of genres in LittleBigPlanet Karting. Set to come out later this year, it looks like the cutesy style from LittleBigPlanet 2 and put it all in this adorable kart racer.
While part of me feels sad for MNR, this is good news knowing it will spiritually continue in some fashion with a better, more well-known IP.
Source

Maybe Shadows of the Damned 2?


Remember Shadows of the Damned? The only part you may actually recall is that you didn’t ever play it. While I believe you should get to it when you get a moment, composer Akira Yamaoka totally believes EA should be interested in a sequel. Maybe this time EA will actually promote it and hopefully it will sell more than 24,000 units within its first month.
Source

Badass Box Art of the Week Goes To…


It’s hard to mess up art with Death in it, right?
Source

Minecraft for Xbox 360 Gets a Release Date and Price

Personally, I don’t care about Minecraft, but I know Kevin (and millions of others) get all giddy for this game so I figured I should at least mention it. After staying mum on the topic, Major Nelson has given a release date (May 9th) and a price ($20) for the Xbox 360 version. Microsoft evens seems to be less restrictive on this game, as it is getting the free updates that the PC version gets (albeit a bit later). I’m sure this will have no trouble being successful.
Source

Did I miss anything? Any thoughts on anything posted? Feel free to let me know!

6 thoughts on “Friday News Recap: 3/17 – 3/23

    • It has my vote for coolest looking Xbox 360, even though that Gears of War 3 one is pretty good!

    • Yes, that box art is fantastic! Darksiders also had good box art, but I like the purple more here.

    • Because LBP is brand that people know a lot more. They probably should have done it like that to start.
      It looks cool, I’ll have to check it out when it releases.

Leave a Reply

