Friday News Recap: 4/7 – 4/13

I’ll admit to not liking Capcom’s business practices, but I will always give credit where it is due. They really came through with some interesting news this week. For once, “interesting” in the same sentence as Capcom isn’t bad news. Good stories also came from other companies and tended to be in the latter half of the week. I’d say we had a pretty interesting seven days.
It’s okay that you didn’t read last week’s recap. I’ll link it for you here.

New Trailer for Resident Evil 6 Reveals New Release Date

It’s not often that a game’s release date actually gets pushed up. Resident Evil 6 was supposed to hit on November 20th, but it is now coming to stores on October 2nd. This is great news in my book, because this game looks fantastic. I’ll skeptical, but equally excited.

Street Fighter X Tekken for the Vita Can Play Against PS3 Players

Although a dozen characters are locked on the disc for the console versions, players who own both the PS3 and Vita versions will not only get free access to all of the new fighters, but they can also play against each other. Other Vita functionality hasn’t been detailed yet, but this is a good step in the right direction. Now if only they weren’t locked on the disc…

Lost Planet 3 is Coming in 2013

Lost Planet 2 is one of the worst games I have ever played, but this trailer does show some hope for the franchise. Not much is known about it, but it has snow, monsters, and mechs which are three things I associate Lost Planet with. Although the developers have a crappy track record (Turning Point: Fall of Liberty and Legendary: The Box), this title is at least somewhat on my radar.

DmC Still Looks Brilliant in this New Trailer

Reboots are aplenty this generation, but few have me more excited than DmC, the new Devil May Cry game. At Captivate, Capcom released a new trailer for the game and reassured my interest in this title. The world looks gorgeous and the new side of Dante seems like territory ripe for exploring. Check out the trailer embedded above for a nearly naked demon hunter, slick combat, and a beautiful, twisted world.
Source for previous four stories

Cliff Bleszinski States On-disc DLC is an “Unfortunate Necessity”

If I had to pick on business practice that I hate in this industry, it would easily be on-disc DLC. If anything, I need to know more about it from a developer’s side of things to have a better grasp on it. I feel that since it is always kept under wraps, it leads people like me to just assume certain things and these aren’t always positive.

However, Gears of War designer Cliff Bleszinski says it is a sad but necessary practice. Since some parts of the team can be done with a title before it ships, they need something to work on. Compatibility was also a reason given. Cliff actually seems genuine in his dislike of this type of delivery, but he thinks it will go away in an all-digital future.

This whole situation feels like a clash between the creative and business side of games. I don’t think it is always handled well and some people are solely in it to rip us off (see above for SFXT and just about everything else Capcom related), but the more I learn about it, the less steamed I get about it. However, I don’t see myself ever being completely okay with it.
Source

Bulletstorm 2 was Considered but Ultimately Passed By

Bulletstorm was a great idea and could have used a sequel to tighten things up. Epic apparently had a better project in mind for People Can Fly and that’s what they are working on now. A sequel isn’t out of the question, but it just isn’t coming soon.
Source

Kinect Support is Making its Way to Skyrim on Xbox 360

While it is a game that I passed on, I like Bethesda’s continued support of this RPG juggernaut. Changes mostly include functions just to make menus less cluttered and make some actions more efficient. Quick saving, quick loading, mapping weapons, equipment management, and much more are the functions to be mapped to your voice after being added in this patch. The patch is set to hit Xbox 360 users later this month. Finally, you can shout “Fus Ro Dah!” and have it actually mean something.
Source

Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Hits American Consoles in September

I consider myself a pretty large Tekken fan, so any news concerning a release date has me interested. PS3 and Xbox 360 owners that are eager to get their juggle combos on will only have wait until this September to do so. Having over fifty playable characters, two-on-one, one-on-one, and regular tag fighting makes this one of the biggest Tekken games yet. I’m dying for a Vita version, but I can’t wait to get my hands on this one.
Source

Is a God of War IV Announcement Imminent?

It is no secret that I love God of War. Seriously. I’ve given all of them pretty great scores. A sequel to this successful franchise is inevitable and Sony seems to be teasing a new entry in the series.
The photo above has bee spotted on their Facebook page and it just screams God of War. SCEA Santa Monica, besides helping on titles like Journey, have been quiet for the past few years so it is about time they start hinting. God of War or not, I’m incredibly excited and we will find out whatever it is on April 19th.
Source

Crysis 3 Accidentally Revealed, Details Coming Soon


Although the original Crysis is sitting on my PS3 hard drive basically untouched, I have a lot of love for Crysis 2. I guess I wasn’t the only one because it looks as though we are getting Crysis 3 in the near future. EA had an ad for it on Origin but it was quickly pulled down and the statement “The best kept secret in shooters just can’t be contained. Stay tuned for more information on April 16” was given. You heard EA; April 16th is the date for more! I don’t know about you, but that bow and arrow alone looks pretty badass.
Source

Did I miss anything? Any thoughts on anything posted? Feel free to let me know!

Leave a Reply

