Friday News Recap: 5/26 – 6/1

Everyone seems to be blowing their load early just before E3. It makes me question why E3 even exists anyway, but hey, I love the spectacle and attention it brings to the industry.

Ratchet & Clank: Full Frontal Assault Headed to PSN this Fall

Insomniac just couldn’t keep themselves away from yet another one. No, not a Ratchet game, I meant another suggestive title. Regardless, they are developing a downloadable Ratchet game for PSN that will hit later this year to coincide with the tenth anniversary and HD Collection. Not much has been shown, but it promises to cheap and very replayable, possibly hinting at a co-op mode. Ratchet: Deadlocked was a good idea and game, so maybe they are taking inspiration from that? Except for “that one,” any Ratchet game has my immediate attention. E3 will surely hold more.
Source


Dead Space 3 Screens Have Leaked Out, EA Confirms Existence


A few days prior to E3, screens leaked for the game that is very likely going to be Dead Space 3. Well, duh. I don’t know the origin of these images, but chances are that someone accidentally leaked them. It’s pretty convincing that co-op is going to be a major part of this game. Sounds familiar… oh yeah, Resident Evil 5 did the same thing and that killed any traces of RE4‘s blessed soul that it had lying around. I really hope it isn’t mandatory. On a different note, the game does look great on its icy planet, complete with its signature badass armor. I’m probably going to say this in every story, but we will have to wait until E3 for more.
Source

Kingdom Hearts HD Collection Incoming?

I’ve rebought almost every PS2 game I’ve had in HD except a few. The biggest being Kingdom Hearts I and II, games I hold in high regard. According to this rumor, it seems like I may get a shot at just that and more. The man who leaked some solid Castlevania information has revealed that an ambitious HD Collection containing Kingdom Hearts (PS2), Kingdom Hearts II (PS2), Kingdom Hearts: Birth By Sleep (PSP), Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories (GBA), and Kingdom Hearts: 358/2 Days (DS) will hit the Vita, PS3, and Wii U at some unspecified time.
I fully expect KH, KHII, and maybe KH: BBS to be remade (and frankly, I’m surprised it would take this long), but I feel the other two would be a bit of a stretch. Since they were portable games on less powerful systems, a lot of work would probably need to be done to bring them to Wii U and PS3 (the Vita does seem like a better home). It could still happen, but I’d put my money on the console games. As always, E3 is just around the corner to debunk or confirm this.
Source

DC Fighting Game from Mortal Kombat Developers Revealed, Named Injustice


Hold on, let me make a list of some cool things: pizza, Batman, and Mortal Kombat. What if NetherRealm, developers of Mortal Kombat, made a fighting game based on the DC Comics characters? Well, strangely (and awesomely), it is happening. Called Injustice: Gods Among Us, it is a traditional fighting game that has an expansive roster of DC’s famed cast. Different fighting styles are said to be in every fighter and environments are said to be very large and interactive. I couldn’t think of a better developer to tackle such a project and I can’t wait to see more when it hits in 2013 (or next week at E3).
Source


New Gears of War Game Revealed by Game Informer


Just before E3 Game Informer shows a teaser of their new cover, which is a Gears of War headed to the Xbox 360 developed by People Can Fly… and that’s all we know. The image is shown above and the game will be shown at E3, but I’ll speculate a bit. It’s probably a prequel that follows Marcus before he was in prison. If not, it’s probably a new character. Who know (besides Epic and GI)? We will in about a week I guess.
Source

Dawnguard DLC for Skyrim Lets a New Trailer Loose

I’ve only barely started Skyrim, but of course Bethesda isn’t waiting on my to release new content. I’d imagine someone who knows more about the lore will understand the trailer more, but it was entertaining nonetheless. Expect more about Dawnguard next week at E3.
Source

Tomb Raider is Hitting this March

The oft-delayed Tomb Raider finally gets a release date. We will all be playing this and listening to Lara’s exotic moans on March 5, 2013. Check the newest trailer out above. Damn… what a great video.
Source

Konami Shows a Couple Trailers: Metal Gear Rising: Revengence and Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2


Konami is too cool for E3, so they decided to have their press conference early. Both Metal Gear Rising: Revengence (hitting in 2013) and Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 both debuted great trailers. Check them out!

As for the recap next week, I’m aiming to get one out every night of the show. I do have a lot of work next week, but I’ll do my best.

2 thoughts on “Friday News Recap: 5/26 – 6/1

  1. WHOA. kingdom hearts collection?? excuse me while i change my pants. new ratchet, dead space, gears? AWESOME castlevania, was dat gabriel, as a vampire? i really think i should go play the 1st one haha. i would’ve like MG a lot more if the music wasnt bad nd the narrator a guy i really want to shut up. but yes, i agree, wats up with all these pre- E3 anouncements? maybe they want to avoid having there announcements all bunched up with the others? hmm lets just hope E3 is still awesome

    • The KH Collection would be great. I think it might be only KH1 and 2, but who knows?
      Well… that might be Gabriel. I don’t know, BUT you should really play Lords of Shadow to figure out more. It had one of the coolest endings in a game that might have been spoiled by that trailer.
      It’s weird you say that because the music stuck out to me as odd.
      I’m assuming they want more time in the light. It also helps the journalists out since they don’t have to cover as many games during the show. They also do that to combat leaks. Dead Space 3 did just that.

Leave a Reply

